Throat Chakra

In our journey through the chakras, we have arrived to the 3 top ones – which are also considered a bit more spiritual than earthy.

This chakra governs anatomical regions of the thyroid, parathyroid, jaw, neck, mouth, tongue and throat.
The gift of this chakra is accepting your originality, expressing your authentic voice and speaking your truth. And remember, communication is not only by expressing and speaking, it is also listening. 

When we say truth and authenticity, it means think about the things you say, are they truth? Are the necessary? Are they kind?
Are you being accommodating, rather than saying what you want? Often we say things we think the other person want to hear.
Fear of rejection, judgment and confrontation usually create this.

When we come to balance this chakra, it helps if we tuned the chakras underneath it.
The first and second chakras are about fear and safety, emotions and sensations. The third is about our Ego, personal power and confidence, the fourth is the heart chakra which helps us connect to ourselves and know what is in our heart. All of these when aligned, will help you express yourself from a higher form of communication.

Depend on what you need to practice – if it is to say no, if it is to stop saying only negative things or criticize people. Maybe stop a habit of gossiping. Maybe you would like, like me, to stop fearing ‘the other’ before expressing myself in public. There are things to work on and it is good :) how else can we grow and develop?

You can meditate, and use affirmations like the ones below.

You can practice speaking in front of a mirror, or writing down what you want to say to a person before you say it (when you fear the consequences).

I use a nice method of reading out loud. It helps with monitoring my voice, velocity and intonation.

There are chants you can do while practicing PranaYama and Yoga.

You can use the words OM or HUM and roll it in your closed mouth for a long time.
For Pranayama there are the Ujjayi breath and Lion breath.

Ujjayi breath – Take an inhalation through the nose. Exhale out through the nose while contracting the back muscles of your throat. Another way to find this is by opening the mouth and exhaling HHHHAAAAAA like when you trying to clean glasses or fog up a mirror. Then do the same with your mouth close.

Lion breath - Sit on your heels, legs can be wide or close. Place you palms on the thighs close to the knees.
On inhalation make a fist with your fingers and contract the arms toward you (up the thighs).
On exhalation release the arms down to the knees while opening the fist and spreading your fingers like the claws of a lion. Make a sound of HAAAAAA when you exhale, open your mouth widely, roll your eyes up. You can see in the pictures below how it looks like :) This is also a very good stress /anger relieve pranayama.

Yoga poses recommended for this chakra: camel pose, plow pose, fish pose, cobra and upward facing dog, shoulder stand, Wheel pose and bridge pose.


I am open, clear, and honest in my communication.
I have a right to speak my truth.
I communicate my feelings with ease. 
I express myself creatively through speech, writing, or art.
I have a strong will that lets me resolve my challenges.
I nourish my spirit through creativity.
I live an authentic life.
I have integrity.
I love to share my experiences and wisdom.
I know when it is time to listen.
I express my gratitude towards life.
I listen to my body and my feelings to know what my truth is.
I take good care of my physical body.
I am at peace.


If you have a specific issue that you want to work on, feel free to write to me! I can direct you to a method that will suit you. 

For posts of the first four chakras: , &